Councillor Des Hudson


Now in his fifth term, Des Hudson is the longest serving Councillor with the post-amalgamation City of Ballarat, having been first elected to represent the Sebastopol Ward in 2002.


He has since been re-elected in 2004, 2008, 2012 and 2016 to represent the South Ward where he is a hardworking and popular Councillor who regularly receives an extremely strong primary vote.


Cr Hudson served as Mayor in 2015-2016 and as Deputy Mayor in 2007, 2008 and 2014.


One of Cr Hudson’s enduring areas of focus is on community safety and wellbeing; working to implement measures that will enhance the quality of life enjoyed by all Ballarat residents.


Cr Hudson knows that managed growth and development are the keys to future prosperity for Ballarat and region. He has a long-term vision for Ballarat which aims to attract investment, build prosperity and ensure there are the jobs and infrastructure needed to support a growing city.


A long serving member of Victoria Police, Cr Hudson is involved with a range of community organisations and is the recipient of the National Medal, National Police Service Medal, and Victoria Police Ethical Standards Medal.


Cr Hudson is married with two children.


Cr Hudson is a People and Communities Portfolio Councillor.



  • Regional Motor Sports Facility Group
  • Responsible Gambling Committee
  • CEO Performance Review Special Committee
  • Community Impact Special Committee
  • Public Art Advisory Committee
  • Ballarat Aquatic Centre Committee
  • Ballarat Municipal Observatory Advisory Committee
  • Ballarat Regional Soccer Facility Advisory Committee
  • Community Safety Advisory Committee (Chair)
  • Sebastopol RSL Hall Advisory Committee
  • Buninyong Community Hall Committee
  • Eureka Precinct Stakeholder Advisory Group
  • Ballarat West Town Common
  • Coghills Creek/Glendaruel Cemetery
  • Learmonth Cemetery

His other community roles include:

  • Ballarat Police Blue Light Coordinator, President and Life Member
  • Victoria Blue Light – State Councillor
  • Ballarat & District Suicide Prevention Network Chairperson
  • Ballarat and District Soccer Association Disciplinary Tribunal Chair
  • Ballarat White Ribbon Day Ambassador