Unscheduled Council Meeting

(Mayoral Election)

Minutes

7 November 2022 at 6:30pm

Council Chamber, Town Hall, Sturt Street, Ballarat







ORDER OF BUSINESS:

1. Welcome And Open Of Meeting	3
2. Welcome To Country	3
3. Opening Declaration	3
4. Apologies For Absence	4
5. Disclosure Of Interest	4
6. Election Of Representatives	5
6.1. Election of Mayor 2022/23	5
6.2. Election of Deputy Mayor 2022/23	7
7. Close	8

The next Ordinary Meeting of the Ballarat City Council will be held on Wednesday 23 November 2022.



1. WELCOME AND OPEN OF MEETING

Cr Daniel Moloney, Mayor opened the meeting.

"Good evening, Councillors, elders and members of the traditional owners of the land on which we meet and work, the Wadawurrung and Dja Dja Wurrung People, Ladies and Gentlemen.

It is a great pleasure to welcome you to the meeting of the Council of the City of Ballarat. The first part of this meeting I will act as Chairperson while we complete several formal procedures.

At this meeting, Councillors will also formally elect a Mayor and if resolved, a Deputy Mayor to lead the Council of the City of Ballarat.

I would now like to declare the meeting open and I invite Aunty Joy Oldaker to provide the 'Welcome to Country'."

2. WELCOME TO COUNTRY

Aunty Joy Oldaker conducted a formal Welcome to Country.

Cr Daniel Moloney, Mayor thanked Aunty Joy Oldaker and any elders present after the 'Welcome to Country'.

3. OPENING DECLARATION

Councillors: "We, the Councillors of the City of Ballarat, declare that we will

carry out our duties in the best interests of the community, and through collective leadership will maintain the highest standards of

good governance."

Mayor: "I respectfully acknowledge the Wadawurrung and Dja Dja

Wurrung People, the traditional custodians of the land, and I would

like to welcome members of the public in the gallery."



4. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

4.1 Present

- Cr Daniel Moloney
- Cr Ben Taylor
- Cr Belinda Coates
- Cr Mark Harris
- Cr Des Hudson
- Cr Amy Johnson
- Cr Peter Eddy
- Cr Tracey Hargreaves
- Cr Samantha McIntosh

Mr Evan King- Chief Executive Officer

Ms Bridget Wetherall - Director Infrastructure and Environment

Mr Matthew Wilson - Director Community Wellbeing

Mr John Hausler - Director Corporate Services

Ms Natalie Robertson - Director Development and Growth

Mr Cameron Montgomery - Executive Manager Governance and Risk Ms Sarah Anstis - Statutory Compliance Officer

Ms Lyndsay Leingang - Administration Officer Statutory Compliance

4.2 Apologies

Nil

5. DISCLOSURE OF INTEREST

Nil



6. ELECTION OF REPRESENTATIVES

6.1. ELECTION OF MAYOR 2022/23

RESOLUTION:

That Council determine the Mayoral term be for 1 year.

Moved: Cr Peter Eddy CARRIED Seconded: Cr Mark Harris (R171/22)

RESOLUTION:

That standing orders be suspended at 6:40pm to allow for a number of presentations.

Moved: Cr Amy Johnson CARRIED Seconded: Cr Des Hudson (R172/22)

Evan King, Chief Executive Officer presented the outgoing Mayor, Cr Daniel Moloney with a gift as a token of esteem and thanks as a memento of his time in office, on behalf of the community.

Evan King, Chief Executive Officer presented Dan, partner of Cr Daniel Moloney with a gift for his support of the Mayor throughout his term, on behalf of the community.

Cr Daniel Moloney addressed the gallery to acknowledge the gift and provide an outgoing speech.

RESOLUTION:

That standing orders resume at 6:52pm.

Moved: Cr Des Hudson CARRIED Seconded: Cr Mark Harris (R173/22)

Acting Chairperson, Evan King, Chief Executive Officer advised that he received three nominations for the position of Mayor for the year 2022/23, being Cr Belinda Coates, Cr Des Hudson, and Cr Mark Harris. These nominations were put forward for consideration.

Cr Belinda Coates confirmed her nomination.

Cr Des Hudson confirmed his nomination.

Cr Mark Harris confirmed his nomination.

A majority of Councillors, through a show of hands, voted to elect Cr Des Hudson as Mayor for the Ballarat City Council for 2022/23 Council year.



RESOLUTION:

That standing orders be suspended at 6:54pm to allow for the Mayor to put on the Mayoral Robe and chains and be presented to the community.

Moved: Cr Samantha McIntosh
Seconded: Cr Daniel Moloney

(R174/22)

Cr Des Hudson left the Council Chamber and returned wearing the City of Ballarat Mayoral Chains at 6:58pm.

Evan King, Chief Executive Officer presented the incoming Mayor, for the 2022/23 term, Cr Des Hudson upon his return to the Council Chamber with a gift as a gesture to recognise the esteem in which the position of the Mayor is held and in recognition of the work required of the Mayor over the next year.

Evan King, Chief Executive Officer presented the incoming Mayor's partner, Anne, with a gift as a gesture to recognise the esteem in which the position of the Mayor's partner is held and in recognition of the support that will be forthcoming for the Mayor over the next year.

Acting Chairperson, Evan King, Chief Executive Officer invited Mayor, Cr Des Hudson to take the Chair.

Mayor, Cr Des Hudson addressed the Council and Gallery to acknowledge receipt of the gift and provide a speech as the new Mayor of Ballarat.

RESOLUTION:

That standing orders resume at 7:08pm.

Moved: Cr Amy Johnson CARRIED Seconded: Cr Samantha McIntosh (R175/22)



6.2. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR 2022/23

RESOLUTION:

That Council determine the Deputy Mayoral term be for 1 year.

Moved: Cr Amy Johnson CARRIED Seconded: Cr Tracey Hargreaves (R176/22)

RESOLUTION:

That standing orders be suspended at 7:09pm to allow for a number of presentations.

Moved: Cr Tracey Hargreaves CARRIED Seconded: Cr Daniel Moloney (R177/22)

Evan King, Chief Executive Officer presented outgoing Deputy Mayor, Cr Amy Johnson with a gift on behalf of the community.

Evan King, Chief Executive Officer presented the outgoing Deputy Mayor's partner, Carl, with a gift as a gesture to recognise the support given to the Deputy Mayor over the last year.

The outgoing Deputy Mayor, Cr Amy Johnson, acknowledged receipt of the gift and addressed the gallery.

RESOLUTION:

That standing orders be resumed at 7:17pm.

Moved: Cr Samantha McIntosh
Seconded: Cr Daniel Moloney

(R178/22)

Cr Des Hudson, Mayor advised that the Chief Executive Officer received three nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor for the year 2022/23, being Cr Belinda Coates, Cr Mark Harris, and Cr Amy Johnson. These nominations were put forward for consideration.

Cr Belinda Coates confirmed her nomination.

Cr Mark Harris confirmed his nomination.

Cr Amy Johnson confirmed her nomination

A majority of Councillors, through a show of hands, voted to elect Cr Amy Johnson as Deputy Mayor for the Ballarat City Council for 2022/23 Council year.



RESOLUTION:

That standing orders be suspended at 7:19pm to allow for a number of presentations.

Moved: Cr Tracey Hargreaves CARRIED Seconded: Cr Samantha McIntosh (R179/22)

Evan King, Chief Executive Officer presented the incoming Deputy Mayor, for the 2022/23 term, Cr Amy Johnson with a gift as a gesture to recognise the esteem in which the position of the Deputy Mayor is held and in recognition of the support that will be forthcoming for the Deputy Mayor over the next year.

Evan King, Chief Executive Officer presented the incoming Deputy Mayor's Partner, Carl with a gift as a gesture to recognise the esteem in which the position of Deputy Mayor's partner is held and in recognition of the support that will be forthcoming for the Deputy Mayor over the next year.

Deputy Mayor, Cr Amy Johnson addressed the Council and Gallery.

RESOLUTION:

That standing orders be resumed at 7:21pm.

Moved: Cr Tracey Hargreaves CARRIED Seconded: Cr Mark Harris (R180/22)

7. CLOSE

The Mayor declared the meeting closed at 7:22pm.

Confirmed this	day of	2022.
		Mayor